Bhutan was known in ancient times by several other names; Lho Mon Khazhi, “Southern Mon country of four entrances or mouths,” Lho Tsheden Jong, “Southern valleys of the sandal-wood,” Lho Men Jong, “Southern valley of medicinal herpes,” Lho Jong. “Southern valley,” and Lho Yul “Southern land.” “Lho” means “south”, is the prefixed to all names as the country situated in the southern range of the Himalayas. The name Bhutan is derived from the Sanskrit word Bhu-Utan which means “High Lander”.

After the arrival of the great Lama, Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel from Tibet in the 1616 A.D, the country came to be known as “Druk Yul” the Land of the Thunder Dragon. It lies in the heart of the vast Himalaya and to both its west and east, rugged mountain ranges stand between it and the hill districts of India.

The Buddhism in Bhutan was introduced in the 7th century by the Tibetan King Songtshen Gampo with the establishment of Kyichu and Jambay temple at Paro and Bumthang districts respectively. Later, the great Master Guru Rimpoche and great saints of Tibetan like Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel further strengthened the religion in Bhutan.

The country was first unified in 17th century by Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel and he consolidated his power, defeated three Tibetan invasions and established himself as head of both civil administrator and religious. Even he codified the comprehensive system of law and order.

After his death, his system eroded and the country fell into infighting and civil war between the rulers of different region till the Trongsa Poenlop Ugyen Wangchuk was crowned as a first hereditary King of Bhutan on 17th December, 1907.

In 2008 in order to have better safeguard and rights of its citizen, Bhutan enacted Constitutional Democracy. Druk Gyalpo Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuk is the present King of the Bhutan, crowned in the same year.